Kosovo & Balkan Networks

Posted: April 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

Now I’m home again, in Užice.  After what have been the best days of my life so far.  I’m not sure how to possibly describe what’s been going on in a way that can make people understand…  But I will try :)

Balkan-networks-small

Gjakovë, Kosovo hosted this year’s Balkan Networks IMG_2630
gathering.  And I got to come to represent YWAM Serbia.
When I got there it turned out I had come to represent Serbia.

As a child, my biggest dream was to become a missionary.  And anyone that had gone that path were my heroes.  I read everything I could find of biographies and stories and some more than others, I just really wanted to be like them – lay down my life to follow Jesus and share Him with others.

Of course there were stories I didn’t want to identify with.  You have horrible “missionary” stories of people that have abused and extorted, forced, threatened and ruled over people in the name of religion.  But then you have the genuine Christ followers, the Missionaries that I look so much up to, the ones that have left everything and done just what Jesus told the rich man in Mark 10.  They don’t bring truckloads of furniture from the land they leave and have their house rented out in case they need to return.  They do like Abram did – they leave everything and follow God.  They don’t look for wrongs, and they find jewels!  They’re not picky, they embrace the Treasure of the people and the culture that God has entrusted them with!

Now you can be as disagreeing as you want and try to convince me that many excellent missionaries get their favorite candy imported – I’m not saying that!  I’m trying to describe my heroes.  The people I look up to more than anything in the world, the ones I want to be like and would be honored to be in the same room with!

This week in Kosovo, I got to be more than in the same room with missionaries like that from all over Balkan.  Over 40 missionaries and pastors from churches and organizations working in the Balkan region were gathered.  I was so humbled to be in the presence of so many people that carry such honor in my eyes.  These were not just random volunteers or missionaries in the sense that I am used to meet around the world.  These were all people in the category that I have just tried to describe.  These were not people that are used to talk.  They were people that are used to work.  To happen and make things happen.  One guy has been in Albania for 18 years.  Alone.  Obviously he’s not alone anymore, because people are coming to Christ and he has believers to take care of, but he has been a missionary alone for 18 years!  And when I quietly mumble that I’ve been in Serbia for two months, he smiles and hugs me and start telling me not to despise small beginnings and how much great there is to look forward to.  I just think it’s awesome to spend 3 days with someone that has been a missionary to Albania for 18 years and not hear one negative word.  Another one have been praying for the Balkans for 35(!) years.  And now, finally, God has called him to come and live and work here as a missionary.  And he’s so excited to finally get to be part of what he’s been praying for to happen for so long, that he’s more or less dancing around as he talks…  I love it when people are excited about God!  And I think we all were this week.  I just got more and more humbled by who I was surrounded by the longer I was there…

BN Gj

And no one was there to promote their own ministries.  They were not there to raise support or gather names for their lists of prayer supporters.  They were there to offer their support for whatever God is doing in other parts of the region.  I was approached so many times during these days, by people that I do not consider myself worthy of asking for a minute of their time, and they came to me asking  What can we do to help Gods work in Serbia?  How can we connect you with people and organizations that has what you need to do what God has called you to do?  How can we pray for you and the church in Serbia?  And not just for me, but between all the countries represented… this was the reason why we were there.

tank-signI don’t know about you, but this was my first time visiting a country that has road signs for military tanks.  And the first time I’ve been told to stick to the paved roads because there are still land mines in some places.  It’s the first time I have visited a country, representing the nation that has caused so much damage, destruction and despair in it.  And I have never felt so loved in all my life.


I don’t even know how to start
to describe the presence of God in such a place.  When I sat in the car to drive the hour and a half back to Prishtinë, tears were just pouring out of my face.  The thankfulness for being allowed to just see something like this happening…  For someone as insignificant as me to be part of something so great that God is doing…  To hear Kosovar pastors that have lost close relatives in the war, pray for the country that killed them, forgive and bless…  To be hugged and through tears be told This is for Serbia.  We love them.  We bless them!  

Traveling back towards Serbia I got a lift on the highway, by an Albanian man.  A Muslim government official that by the end of the drive, after realizing that I’m a Christian missionary and when he had gone as far north as he was allowed to drive with his vehicle, told me Thank you for helping my country and our region, we need you!

So humbled.  So blessed.
And so eager to advance the Kingdom of God in this city, in this nation, in this region…
…and to the ends of the world.

 

Leave a comment