Beautiful Serbia

Posted: February 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

It’s so incredible to be here…  To finally be where you have dreamed about and planned for to be for months.  To see the people, hear the language, walk the streets and smell the air…  I love every inch of this city and every minute I get to spend in it!  I have made it an aim to visit every small-shop there is during my first two months here, and I think I’m more than half way already after a little more than two weeks.  But it slows down…  Because by now you actually get to exchange a few sentences and you start recognizing people here and there.  Some know you already and others have heard from a friend about this strange Norwegian that has dumped down in their midst.  One taxi driver knew a woman that had been in Norway, and a few days later I was sitting in a Serbian home drinking Turkish coffee and speaking Norwegian with a friend I had made through a taxi driver…

Having a car at my disposal on my day off, I set out to explore the extended territory around where we live.  I tried to find my way to every hilltop around the city and ended up finding a bunch of small roads leading to people who were convinced I was lost and more than willing to help.  A few elderly men chatting over a fence up in the mountains, far from anything, laughed loud and long when I tried to explain that I was enjoying the view in their country.  I don’t know if they laughed at my poor Serbian or the fact that I was there, but I think I made their day.. hahaha :)

It is truly beautiful here!  Both the nature and the people!  Praying that God will touch hearts as we continue to pray for and love on this city, nation and region.  May the people of Užice see and understand that Jesus died for them, that their lives are worth such a high price, and that there is a God – alive and well – that wants to know them, help them and spend eternity with them.  May the Love of God be poured out on the people in this region, and may it happen through us.

IMG_1319

The city of Užice, seen from the south

IMG_1318

Downtown Užice with hotel Zlatibor to the right, or what I call “the Rocket”

IMG_1438

The city of Užice, seen from the north

IMG_1402

The hills of Bela Zemlja, the area where we live, just outside Užice

IMG_1359

The Orange House in Bela Zemlja, “Млади за Мисијом” team house AKA my Home :)

Leave a comment